listen here

Patriot Broadcast From the Trenches Schedule 

5 Nuclear Carriers Into Harbor For “Routine” (?) Inspections…’This Is Definitely A Problem’

The aircraft carriers USS Dwight D. Eisenhower (CVN 69), USS George H.W. Bush (CVN 77), USS Enterprise (CVN 65), USS Harry S. Truman (CVN 75), and USS Abraham Lincoln (CVN 72) are in port at Naval Station Norfolk, Va. US Navy Photo

The aircraft carriers USS Dwight D. Eisenhower (CVN 69), USS George H.W. Bush (CVN 77), USS Enterprise (CVN 65), USS Harry S. Truman (CVN 75), and USS Abraham Lincoln (CVN 72) are in port at Naval Station Norfolk, Va. US Navy Photo


Before It’s News – by John Rolls

UPDATE : More intel that WE CAN TRUST on 5 nuclear carriers into harbor for “routine” (?) inspections…

From:Victoria Baer -
Sent:Monday, February 25, 2013 3:55 PM
Subject:More intel that WE CAN TRUST on 5 nuclear carriers into harbor for “routine” (?) inspections…
Importance:High

Here is some feedback that I receive that I trust:

Victoria:

I was in the U.S .military for 30 years and the U.S. Navy for 24 years and retired out of Norfolk as an Intel Officer.

I can tell you, having lived in Virginia Beach for 12 of those years (30 minutes to the Naval Base) that having five U.S. carriers in port at one time,IS CREATING THE PERFECT TARGET.

Such a move is insanity….unless you are TRYING to ‘set up the Navy’ for a missile attack.

Now, who what ‘American’ president or CINCUSNAV would EVER do such a thing.

Three guesses and the first two just don’t count.

Hint: He has three vowels in his name and if you rearrange the letters they spell USURPER.

Dr. Tom (LCDR, USN-ret)

Victoria, don’t know if you are aware but this problem is compounded by the fact that the Thimble Shoals channel is about a 45 minute to an hour transit to open ocean from NOB Norfolk. Thimble Shoals channel can be easily blocked with sunken ships, bottling up every other ship in port. At least at Pearl Harbor, ships not sunk or damaged could escape to open ocean, like they could from Mayport. Why don’t they put a nuc carrier here? Hmmmm.

JK

———

Victoria,

This was verified by two people who do not know each other and who each have sons serving in the Navy, one each on two of these carriers.

Mark

———

From: Victoria Baer
Sent: Monday, February 25, 2013 12:59 PM
Subject: 5 nuclear carriers into harbor for “routine” (?) inspections…

This is definitely a problem….

Victoria Baer

When the defense of liberty becomes a crime, tyranny is already in force. At that point, failure to defend liberty makes slavery a certainty.

This is absurd! Your community organizer at work!

Send to everyone!

As always, do your own research. To get you started:

—Original Message—-

What is wrong with this picture?
The picture is of the five nuclear carriors.
Just like Battleship Row, Pearl Harbor, December 7, 1941.

This picture was taken the other day in Norfolk. The Obama Administration ordered 5 nuclear carriers into harbor for “routine” (?) inspections. Heads of the Navy were flabbergasted by the directive.

NORFOLK, VA. (February 8, 2013). The first time since WWII …that five nuclear powered aircraft carriers were docked together.

USS Dwight D. Eisenhower (CVN 69), USS George H.W. Bush (CVN 77), USS Enterprise (CVN 65), USS Harry S. Truman (CVN 75), and USS Abraham Lincoln (CVN 72) are all in port at Naval Station Norfolk, Va., the world’s largest naval station.

Sources stated that this breached a long standing military protocol in the Navy meant to avoid massive enemy strike on major US forces. (U.S. Navy photo by Chief Mass Communication Specialist Ryan J. Courtade/Released)

http://beforeitsnews.com/military/2013/02/5-nuclear-carriers-into-harbor-for-routine-inspections-this-is-definitely-a-problem-2449952.html

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.
11797
Don't forget to answer the Security Question before you post comment.

48 Responses to 5 Nuclear Carriers Into Harbor For “Routine” (?) Inspections…’This Is Definitely A Problem’

  1. Mark Schumacher - NV says:

    They are probabaly in port to be converted into private yachts for the Saudi navy.

  2. Jolly Roger says:

    yep. It certainly looks like the ground-work for another pearl Harbor event. I wonder how old these ships are, and whether they’re scheduled to be decommissioned soon.

  3. jaydi says:

    Roosevelt had the carriers out to sea during his false flag.

    On the bright side think of all the swabbies and marines who are getting some r-n-r right now. enjoy it while you can

  4. oldvet says:

    Its worse than it even looks….follow these short links for the overall picture,

    http://www.navytimes.com/news/2013/02/navy-ferguson-sequestration-budget-cuts-021213/

    http://navy-matters.blogspot.com/2013/02/uss-lincoln-refuel-delayed.html#comment-form
    ” USS Lincoln Refuel Delayed
    A little noticed but hugely important impact of the current budget cuts is the just announced decision to delay the nuclear refueling and complex overhaul (RCOH) of the USS Abraham Lincoln as reported by Navy Times at http://www.navytimes.com. RCOH is the multi-year mid-life refueling and overhaul that allows carriers to serve another twenty or so years. What’s the big deal, you ask? So what if the RCOH starts a little later? Well, RCOH only takes place at one location in a single dock. The availability of that dock is scheduled years in advance since it must serve the entire carrier fleet in a carefully choreographed sequence. The domino effect of this decision, if the delay lasts any significant amount of time, will be felt for years. We may wind up with multiple carriers unavailable for service due to needed refueling that can’t be accomplished. Alternatively, we may see another carrier retired early because of unresolvable scheduling issues and/or to save money. A RCOH costs around $3.5B – no small change! For the moment, the Lincoln will sit idle at Norfolk awaiting a decision.

    This is an immediate example of CNO’s publicly stated policy of cutting maintenance in favor of new construction. This is idiocy or political gamesmanship in the extreme and neither is worthy of the United States Navy or the CNO. This CNO is gutting the Navy.”

    the Navy is planning to idle four air wings with the result that some carriers will be idled since they won’t have any air wings. It appears that the affected carriers will be Stennis, Eisenhower, Reagan, and Roosevelt.
    Whats important to understand is that a Carrier does not “Sail” alone but deploys with up to 12 to 20 support ships,…Frigates, Aegis Cruisers, Destroyers,..Tenders..and Even Subs…..upwards of 14 thousand sailors and Flight Personnel.

    This sequestration/castration BS will eliminate 10% of our Naval Strength without even firing a shot……

  5. NoWayNWO says:

    Jolly Roger- this information is from Wikipedia:
    The Enterprise was deactivated in Dec 2012 and is to be decommissioned by 15th March this year.
    The Eisenhower, commissioned in 1977 is due to be replaced in 2025.
    The Abraham Lincoln was built in the 1980s.
    The Truman was built 1990s.
    The Bush was commissioned in 2009.
    Hmm, can we guess which vessel might get the USS Maine treatment?

  6. Richard says:

    There are a total of 15 aircraft carriers in the fleet. IF it does happen, it will be a chance to rid the military of older carriers. They have 10 others to use on their illegal wars. If any of these are hit, it will cause a nuclear problem, it could contamentent 100′s of miles.

    • US Marine Fighting Tyranny says:

      Hi Richard,

      I believe that your number of carriers is incorrect.

      If I remember right, we had 11 carriers, but with the retirement of the Enterprise,.. that brings us down to 10.

      Typically out of the 11, we usually had 3 or 4 in Home-Port, or a maintanence port, meaning, on average we had about 40% of our carrier fleet off-line for normal maintanence and upgrade work.

      I believe the 11 carriers are:

      1 – Enterprise – Decom’d

      2 – Nimitz

      3 – Eisenhower

      4 – Vinson

      5 – Roosevelt

      6 – Lincoln

      7 – Stennis

      8 – Truman

      9 – Reagan

      10 – Bush

      11 – Washington

      If I have forgotten any, please let me know.

      Thanks – JD – US Marines

  7. Dave says:

    Nobody is going to attack these vessels.
    They’re all there for refurbishing & repairs from being deployed in the Gulf in a failed effort to spook the Iranian’s into doing something Israel wants them to do; keep selling their oil & gas in dollars.
    Our biggest threat in the US isn’t missiles, it’s nations using something other than dollars for their energy purchases.

  8. Tom says:

    Connecting a couple of dots here, last night I watched this video http://youtu.be/AZhit652mIA with an Iranian physics expert discussing breakthrough technologies that render all current military hardware obsolete. If I hadn’t also last year read the book _Secrets of Antigravity Propulsion_ the grain of salt with which I watched the video would have stuck in my throat……… as it was, the video had too much grain of truth to ignore. The book makes it clear that the US military has been suppressing (classifying) all public knowledge of this technology while going full-speed-ahead developing it, even secretly putting it into routine service in the B-2 bomber.

    The Iranian physics expert Keshe states that the drone Iran captured intact was brought down with an inexpensive technology that renders current jet fighter aircraft useless. If there is any truth to this, it could explain our carriers being tied up in port, and our latest fighter, the F-35, being grounded.

    Petroleum power transformed warfare in WWI with aircraft, tanks, and motorized transport. Nuclear weapons changed the equation again at the end of WWII. Are we on the cusp of another momentous alteration of the balance of power?

    Just remember, “All war is deception.”

  9. Smilardog says:

    I sent this article in yesterday to post and it didn’t get posted, so i thought that no one saw the importance of it. Today, it get’s posted. What a difference a day makes.

    I read some where a couple of days ago about Iran’s new technology and how they brought down both of those drones with it. I think it also said something about Iran giving it to the world. I can’t remember! Dang, I’am getting old.

  10. Africom Pope says:

    It is a well know fact that Chinese missiles have rendered all aircraft carriers totally obsolete. There is no defence against a missile travelling at mach 3.5 and less than 20 feet above the sea.

    If there is to be a conflict with China, Russia or Iran the US carriers will be the first targets hit.

    • US Marine Fighting Tyranny says:

      Hi Africom,

      Not entirely true.

      Most ships, even smaller frigates and support vessels have a Phalanx System as its last ring of air defense.

      Although this does not gurantee ship security against China’s Sunburn Antiship Missile, it does give them a decent chance of taking them out before impact.

      For those not familiar with ship-bourne Phalanx System,.. these are essentially gattling guns, like oversized mini’s, that have an extraordinary rate of firepower. They are radar guided, and I would expect that by now they also incorporate additional methods of target acquisition such IR/UV, Optical and Laser.

      These systems have been used for decades and are well understood and developed.

      Again, this does not gurantee 100% Defense, but it certainly gives any ship a very good system.

      The weak point: These multi-barrel anti-aircraft, anti-missle guns simply ingest ammo like there is no tommorrow. The biggest problem is keeping the system ammo fed.

      JD – US Marines

      • Tom says:

        The sunburn missile’s designers, knowing what the Phalanx can do, have added a jink to the targeting software where as the missile gets within range, it swerves randomly back and forth faster than the Phalanx can correct the aim, only straightening out for the kill at the last split second.

        Having served on an aircraft carrier in the 70′s (CVA-43), even then I had little confidence that a determined attack by nuclear-tipped missiles could be thwarted. Missile technology since then has only made carriers more obsolete in a real war against first-world nations that can fight back. Ever notice that all wars since WWII have only been fought against nations that were helpless to attack carriers?

        • US Marine Fighting Tyranny says:

          Hi Navy,

          Welcome home brother.

          As for your comment,…understood, your personal experience is not open to dispute.

          As I stated below, there is no such thing as 100% protection for any asset in theater,… including carriers.

          Including a series of jinx’s* in a missles FCL (Final-Coordination-Line), the last part of an airbourne objects flight path before impact is know and understood, this is why Phalanx’s are best deployed in an “X-Y” configuration, or what grunts would call over-lapping-sectors of fire in a rosita pattern.

          Again this does not gurantee threat neutralization, but it does increase attack survivablility.

          The only sure fire way to gurantee a “no-kill” outcome,.. is to not go to war in the first place.

          JD – US Marines

          *Note: For those who do not know what a “jinx” is, this is erratic in-flight movements which make any aircraft or flying object much more difficult to strike or intercept.

  11. eric swan says:

    So who would attack and how? Carriers made battle ships obsolete, cruise missiles have made carriers obsolete.

    • US Marine Fighting Tyranny says:

      Hi Eric,

      Contrary to myth, carriers are far from obsolete.

      Although Anti-Ship Missles pose a significant threat,.. this is also part of the normal, “Threat-Countermeasure” escalation.

      Every time a new weapon is developed (an attack asset), a method of neutralizing it is developed,.. (the “threat”),… which immediately leads to a “counter-measure” (protection of the attack asset), which leads to a “Counter-Counter-Measure”,.. which then leads to a, “Counter-Counter-Counter Measure”,.. and so on,.. and so on.

      Although our carriers definitely have a suseptability issue from air-bourne threats (anti-ship missles),… this is why carriers NEVER travel alone. They are ALWAYS surrounded by a myriad of support craft, defense systems craft and sacrifical craft (sucks to be on one of those…)

      The advent of new, hyper-sonic anti-aircraft missle (such as the Chinese Sunburn) simply means a different employment strategy for the carriers will be utilized until more effective counter-measures are developed.

      This Tit-For-Tat of ups-menship is more commonly called an, “Arms Race”.

      JD – US Marines – A simple concept of a high velocity, low flying missle will NOT instantly null the shear firepower or strategic advantage that carrier fleets bring to bear.

  12. rob says:

    well . the Phalanx system may work when there is an attack by one missile only.
    The Chinese (iranian and russian too) doctrine is to fire salvo of multiple missiles
    at the same time, preferably from different directions. Such attack overwhelms
    (saturates) the defenses , making it impossible to respond to all of them …
    With Sunburn It is enough that one missile is successfull to finish large vessel
    since it targets below the water line …..instant sinking follows ….

    • US Marine Fighting Tyranny says:

      Hi Rob,

      I’m guessing you have never seen a Phalanx in operation.

      They are incredibly fast, accurate, awesome and will give you a woody to see in action.

      In addition, what makes you think something as big and valuable as a carrier has only one Phalanx, or orther types of defenses?

      Also,… this is why carriers are surrounded by an absolute flotilla of support/defensive craft, which also have Phalanx’s on them in addition to a multitude of other types of defense systems.

      In support of your statement, you are absolutely correct in that firing just one missle as an attack on a carrier would not be what an attacking adversary would do,.. they would launch multiple missiles, each given different ingress paths and flight profiles to create the most complexe pattern (the most difficult to defeat).

      Hence why Stand-Off distance, support ship configuration, and other assset deployment (such as AWACS) become critical in high threat enviroments.

      Does any of these guarantee ship (carrier) safety?

      No,… but it does substantially increase engagement survivability,.. nothing more,.. and this is always the case in military operations of any nature.

      JD – US Marines – I’m not saying carriers are invulnerable, but they are better protected than most people believe or understand.

      • SEW says:

        I hope you understand that the warmongering USA and Israel (it is one and the same) are the biggest problem of the world. Perhaps one day American soldiers will wake up and stop the madness by not supporting the U.S. millitary anymore. More than anything, the American people need to be protected against the real threat: their deceitful “leaders” and scaming mainstream media lie-factory.

      • Bullwinkle says:

        Very optimistic but everything was built by the lowest bidder.

  13. NC says:

    5 carriers bunched together and breaking military protocol signed off by Obama himself. Yep, this is the perfect storm.

    WHY WHY WHY WHY WHY, is the military obeying EVERY TREASONOUS WORD that our foreign commander-in-chief tells them, even if it is so blatantly obvious that it will send them and their country to their graves??? I JUST DON’T GET IT!!!

    How this has gone on for so long without a military coup of some kind is beyond my imagination. Is the military never going to rebel and rise up against Obama and his cohorts? Are the marines too proud to do something about it? Are they just going to sit and watch our country fall? Do the best of the best even care about their country and their families anymore? Do we even have a SEAL team anymore? Do we even have a military with the balls to fight back against Obama and our enemies in the White House? Where is everyone???

    For those of you in the military who may get angry or offended by this, I’m sorry, but someone has to say it. Until I see some action, all I see are COWARDS in our military. This is not the superior military I grew up believing in. After everything that has been done to this country and no one in our military has been doing anything about it, what else am I suppose to think about our military?

    If you in the military think otherwise, then PROVE ME WRONG!!! DO YOUR DAMN JOB!! DO YOUR DAMN DUTY!!! DO WHAT YOU HAVE BEEN TRAINED FOR!!!

    PROTECT OUR COUNTRY AND ARREST THE TREASONOUS TRAITORS IN THE WHITE HOUSE AND IN OUR GOVERNMENT, DAMMIT!!!!

  14. Daniel Patrick Hall on Facebook says:

    What it shows me is that there is no threat and everything is fine. Any False Flag problem that comes up is just propaganda initiated by the Banks!

    • rhumstruck says:

      No Threat? Go back under your rock. Return to your Talmudvision and american IDIOT.
      Or, take the red pill and wake the f%@# up!

      • NC says:

        Rhumstruck, what do you expect from someone who blatantly states in his name that he still uses and posts on CIA’s Facebook. That alone speaks wonders about the intelligence of the individual.

      • # 1 NWO Hatr says:

        So, how’s the CIA treating you over at Fakebook these days?

        They own it, in case you were unaware.

        btw, this site is a terrible place to try trolling.

  15. suezz says:

    wish there wasn’t a carrier named bush – what a disgrace.

  16. hp says:

    You have heard of Van Riper and Millenium 2002?

    No contest. Wasn’t even close. The Blue lightweights sunk practically the entire red heavyweight fleet and it really didn’t take that long.

    The solution? Well, what else? Cheat. Like the F-35, etc. They “unsunk” the ships and limited the Blue team tactics. (the neoAmerican way)

    The Israeli spies and American traitors had stold and sold the F-35 data to China before the paint had even dried.

    http://www.nytimes.com/2008/01/12/washington/12navy.html

  17. NC says:

    Hey guess what, there are Russian subs patrolling in the Gulf of Mexico, which is just a short ride to Virginia. How convenient to have 5 aircraft carriers just sitting there wrapped up in a nice little bow for them. Ahem!

  18. William says:

    There are actually only 4 carriers that are active in this pic. The USS Enterprise was decommissioned in 2012 ( I was there) and its not uncommon to see 3 or 4 carriers in port. You would have to use a nuke to inflict any kind of damage unless your a real great sub jockey .

    Here’s the list in this pic.

    9 Flattops at Norfolk naval base, December 20, 2012 : From bottom to top, front to back: * Aircraft carrier USS Dwight D. Eisenhower (CVN-69) * Aircraft carrier USS George H.W. Bush (CVN-77) *Amphibious assault ship USS Bataan (LHD-5) * Aircraft carrier USS Abraham Lincoln (CVN-72) * Aircraft carrier USS Harry S. Truman (CVN-75) * Amphibious assault ship USS Wasp (LHD-1) * Amphibious assault ship USS Kearsarge (LHD-3) * Amphibious landing platform dock USS New York (LPD 21) * A T-AKE dry cargo ammunition ship * Amphibious assault ship USS Iwo Jima (LHD-7) and various cruisers, destroyers, frigates and submarines of the U.S. Atlantic Fleet.

    • SEW says:

      > You would have to use a nuke to inflict any kind
      > of damage unless your a real great sub jockey .

      Or one man with a USB memory stick when doing the routine inspections. Ever heard of Stuxnet? And what it can do. Ask Jim Stone about the “hydrogen explosions” at Fukushima and all the failed security systems on multiple, parallell and independent safety systems on multiple reactors. And all ‘on the same day’ too (kind of). Or read the Nuclear Sabotage at Fukushima report, ask your own questions and do your own thinking.

      (As for the 4-5 aircraft carriers, do I think anything will happen at this time? No, I don’t. And as you said, it is not uncommon to see 3-4 (active) aircraft carriers docked at the same time. The conspiracy and manipulation of the world is real, yet so called ‘conspiracy people’ are [if you ask me, anyway, many times more or less] waisting their time on what if’s. But we need to wake up the sleeping people, and do it through proof (and there are plenty of proofs to show instead of all the conspiracy theories and distractions). Else mad events will occur again and again, to manipulate the people of the world.)

      • Henry Shivley says:

        So what are you saying here? As soon as an account of an incident is identified as a conspiracy theory, we should just stop talking about it? Who are you and what is your purpose here?

  19. . says:

    from jimstonefreelance.com

    FIVE nuclear aircraft carriers in SAME harbor at SAME time is perfect setup for Stuxnet / control system virus installation
    I am sure everyone will breathe easy when these five aircraft carriers leave the harbor, apparently unharmed. But I have a different take on this. They are in that harbor for a “routine inspection”, one which will no doubt include having inspectors gain access to the nuclear reactor rooms. And if it is the same team of inspectors going through all of them, WATCH OUT.

    Not only is having FIVE carriers in the same location unprecedented, not only is it STUPID, it is, in addition to those two things a perfect setup for having ONE team of people sabotage all five. Why would Obama do this, – The same Obama that refused to allow the Marines to march in front of him not only without ammo, but also with weapons rendered incapable of shooting? I have a pretty good guess, and it is not one that I would want to sleep on. Something is fishy here, COUNT ON IT.

  20. I can see the Naval Base from across the river where I live. I worked, at the base for 7 yrs. in the 90′s and have lived in the Tidewater area for over 40 yrs. I can tell ya, I have NEVER seen 5 Carriers in port at one time. I have only seen 4 Carriers, which is very rare, one time. and that was Independence Day weekend right after the first Gulf War. Obama was here at the Newport News shipyard today spewing his lies and propaganda to a very supportive press. If the Lincoln is not put into the yard by March 28th they will start laying off workers. The Navy also has 11 ships waiting to be sent to shipyards for much needed repairs. We are at “ground zero” for sequestration. God help us!

    • Tom says:

      Sequestration is just a tiny sliver of the proverbial rock-and-hard-place problem we are facing together as both a nation and a globe. It is an artifact of our debt-based money system which absolutely requires continued growth to keep from crashing, but the growth itself mathematically leads to an out-of-control terminal spike due to the laws of exponentials. See this six minute presentation on this at Chris Martenson’s Crash Course: http://www.peakprosperity.com/video/216/playlist/153/chapter-3-exponential-growth

      Most of us here would love to see a balanced budget, because we can see that a chronically unbalanced budget is leading to the doom of our nation. However, we must also realize that due to the nature of our monetary system, balancing the budget will also lead to crashing the system. The government has become the spender of last resort to keep feeding enough new money into the economy to pay the interest on the accumulated debt. That’s why they are desperately trying to scare us with the consequences of sequestration, to convince us that we need to keep spending as much as before.

      Seen in this light, every cockamamie spending scheme (like funding a study of the sociology of Peruvian whorehouses – a real example) makes sense. It’s hard, nay, impossible, to come up with enough legitimate and useful spending to feed the trillions in new money into the economy, so they have accepted looking like idiots spending money in stupid ways.

      The point, at the end of the system, is that the bankers own the entire earth.

      “Until you change the way money works, you change nothing.” — Michael C. Ruppert

    • Turner Ashby says:

      Very true – born and raised here – I’ve NEVER seen this before. You can easily see the base from Hampton, or while going across the Bridge-tunnel. This is unusual to say the least. Is anyone surprised that the usurper hates the military?

  21. William says:

    How come no one is asking the obvious question?

    When was this photo taken?

    • Henry Shivley says:

      What is your point? I believe the photo was taken in December, 2012. As for them being authentic, we have verification from the ground, right here on this site.
      Again, what is your point?

    • SEW says:

      When was the photo taken? As already pointed out, it seems to have been in mid-December, i.e. over 2 months ago. Here was a reply from beforeitsnews bySH60wife:

      ” This picture was actually taken in mid-December, not this month, and none were ordered into port for “routine maintenance.”The USS Enterprise was retired from the Navy in January. It’s being dismantled.The USS Eisenhower deployed on Thursday and is on its way to the Middle East to relieve the USS Stennis, which will return to its home port on the West Coast. The Eisenhower was in port for two months to get its flight deck resurfaced.The USS Harry Truman was to depart on a mission to the Central Command in early February, but Navy officials asked the secretary of defense to cancel that mission, which presumably was to the Persian Gulf where the U.S. has had two aircraft carriers. Now it will have one — the Eisenhower.The USS Bush was not ordered into port for “routine inspections.” It had been undergoing tests of its ability to have aircraft, which it does not presently have. Its cruise was canceled because of the sequester.The USS Lincoln also was not ordered into port for routine maintenance. It was in port for a two-year refueling mission, which the Navy has now canceled because of the sequester cuts.Here is the article from our local paper:Home for Christmas: 9 Flattops at Norfolk naval base, December 20, 2012.With the returns from deployment of the carrier DWIGHT D. EISENHOWER on Dec. 19, and the amphibious ships IWO JIMA and NEW YORK on Dec. 20, the piers at Norfolk’s naval base are about as full up as they’ll ever be.Five aircraft carriers, four big-deck amphibious assault ships, a full cast of “small boy” surface warships, along with nuclear submarines and support ships, are crowding the base, giving a comfortably snug feeling to the waterfront. Similar scenes — although not with the gathering of flattops seen here — are taking place at other fleet concentration areas like San Diego and Pearl Harbor.The Navy makes a point of trying to gives its shipboard crews a chance to spend Christmas with their families, and for a few days the percentage of ships underway drops to the lowest point it will be all year. But many of these ships will be gone in two weeks as the pace of operations picks up again.In a decade or so, scenes such as this at Norfolk could become quite rare, as the fleet is in the midst of a gradual shift from the Atlantic to Pacific. Within a few years, about sixty percent of the U.S. Navy’s ships will be homeported at a Pacific base – virtually a mirror image of the Cold War emphasis on the Atlantic.The Navy also says the story about this being the first time so many carriers were moored together since Pearl Harbor is untrue.Not surprisingly, the story was changed, the picture was attached, and the Internet did its thing.FEB 26, 2013, 6:13 AM”

  22. Jim D says:

    This is MADNESS – 50% of our aircraft carrier capability is vulnerable to being taken out in one well coordinated attack – by air, by small nuke or by underwater divers planting bombs. INSANITY.

    Why do I get the impression we are being set up?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

What is 12 + 13 ?
Please leave these two fields as-is:
IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math (so we know that you are a human) :-)